Government of Jersey logo

Government of Jersey

The Council of Ministers is the Government of Jersey. The Council is led by the Chief Minister and made up of twelve other Ministers. The Government has responsibility for all of Jersey’s domestic and fiscal affairs and, increasingly, the Island’s international affairs.

The responsibilities of the Council are set out in law and include the following:

  • co-ordinating policies and administration;
  • discussing and agreeing policy affecting two or more ministers;
  • prioritising executive and legislative proposals.

One of the first tasks of the Council is to draw up a Strategic Plan for Jersey within four months of its appointment. The plan outlines the Council’s aims and objectives and gives a timetable for implementation. Once the Strategic Plan is approved by the States Assembly, it is the role of the Council to make sure it is properly and efficiently delivered.

​The current Council of Ministers is as follows:


​Ministerial Position ​Minister
​Chief Minister Lyndon Farnham
​External Relations ​Ian Gorst
Sustainable Economic Development Kirsten Morel
International Development Carolyn Labey 
Infrastructure Andy Jehan
Social Security ​Lyndsay Feltham
​Children and Families Richard Vibert
Justice and ​Home Affairs ​Mary Le Hegarat
​Treasury and Resources Elaine Millar
Health and Social Services (and Deputy Chief Minister) ​Tom Binet
Environment ​Steve Luce
Housing Sam Mezec
Education and Lifelong Learning Robert Ward